

Georgia Department of Driver Services

Customer Service Licensing & Records Division P.O. Box 80447, Conyers Georgia 30013 Phone: (678) 413–8400

Brian P. Kemp Governor Angelique B. McClendon Commissioner

## WHAT TO DO AFTER AN ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE SUSPENSION HEARING

If the proposed suspension of your driver's license is affirmed by the Administrative Law Judge:

- 1. The administrative suspension of your driver's license will go into effect as of the date of the order issued by the Administrative Law Judge, and your temporary driving permit, if one was issued, is no longer valid.
- 2. If this suspension is based upon your **refusal** to submit to blood alcohol testing, your license will remain suspended for a period of at least one (1) year. You will not be eligible for a limited driving permit, and this suspension is not subject to early reinstatement. However, you may be eligible to receive credit for the time served on this suspension toward satisfaction of the suspension of your driver's license for driving under the influence if you are convicted in the criminal case related to this suspension. Information about additional reinstatement requirements is available from the Department of Driver Services (DDS) at the telephone number listed above. Please allow 7-10 days for processing of the ALJ's order.
- 3. If this suspension is based upon the **test results** of your blood, breath, urine or other bodily substances, your license will remain suspended for a period of one (1) year to five (5) years depending upon your prior driving history. You may be eligible for early reinstatement and/or a limited driving permit. Additionally, you also may be eligible to receive credit for the time served on this suspension toward satisfaction of the suspension of your driver's license for driving under the influence if you are convicted in the criminal case related to this suspension. Information about additional reinstatement requirements is available from the DDS at 678-413-8400. Please allow 7-10 days for processing of the ALJ's order.
- 4. Please contact the DDS immediately if you are acquitted of the underlying charge of (DUI) or if the case is dismissed, reduced to a lesser offense, or otherwise resolved in some manner other than by a conviction for DUI so that the DDS can delete this administrative suspension from your driving record. Be sure that you have a certified (with the court's seal) copy of the disposition of the DUI charge available for submission to the DDS, if needed.
- 5. Driving while your license or driving privilege is suspended is a crime, and a conviction for driving during this suspension may result in criminal penalties and an additional period of license suspension.

6. In addition to the suspension of your non-commercial driver's license or driving privilege, the administrative suspension of your driver's license also impacts your eligibility to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Please contact the DDS for more information, if needed.

## If the proposed suspension of your driver's license is reversed by the Administrative Law Judge:

- 1. The administrative suspension of your driver's license will not go into effect, and the status of your driver's license with the DDS will remain valid (unless you have some other license suspension(s) or revocation(s)). The DDS will delete all reference to the proposed suspension from your driving record upon receipt of the Administrative Law Judge's decision from the Office of State Administrative Hearings. This usually occurs within 7 to 10 days after the hearing.
- 2. Please be aware that the resolution of your appeal of the proposed administrative suspension of your driver's license has no impact on the pending criminal charge(s) against you, so be sure to attend any court dates of which you are notified. Failure to appear and respond to a traffic charge could result in a separate suspension of your driver's license.
- 3. If you wish to obtain another driver's license, you may be required to bring a certified copy of the administrative law judge's decision with you to one of the DDS' customer service centers if the DDS has not yet received the order from the Office of State Administrative Hearings. In order for the DDS to accept a copy of the administrative law judge's decision, it must be certified and have the court's seal. Please be aware that you will be required to surrender your driver's license again if you are convicted of DUI in the criminal case related to the proposed administrative suspension, and failure to surrender your license at that time may impact the timing of your eligibility for reinstatement of that suspension of your driver's license or driving privilege.
- 4. The Administrative Law Judge's decision in this case only pertains to the pending administrative suspension of your driver's license or driving privilege based upon your alleged blood alcohol test results or alleged refusal to submit to blood alcohol testing at the time of your arrest for driving under the influence. The reversal of this proposed suspension has no affect upon any other suspension, cancellation, revocation, or disqualification of your driving privilege, and your driver's license or driving privilege will remain suspended, cancelled, revoked, or disqualified if it was for some other reason even after the DDS receives the decision from the Administrative Law Judge. Please contact the DDS at 678-413-8400 for more information about the reinstatement of your driver's license.